PGT Innovations’ Lynn Miller Appointed to Chair ASTM Task Group

June 2nd, 2022 by Editor

Lynn Miller, PGT Innovations code compliance manager, was recently appointed chairperson of the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) impact-resistance task group.

The ASTM is an international standards organization that develops and publishes voluntary consensus technical standards for a wide range of materials, products, systems, and services. Miller will serve as the Chairman of the task group that is tasked with overseeing the development of the ASTM E1886 and E1996 standards, which are global standards that set the criteria for performance of exterior windows, curtainwalls, doors, and impact protective systems affected by windborne debris in hurricanes.

The ASTM E1886/E1996 standards are adopted by the International Building Code, International Residential Code, Florida Building Code, and many other codes worldwide.

“I am truly honored to have been chosen as chairman of this esteemed task group,” said Miller. “I look forward to working with the other task group members as we continuously strive to refine these standards for building envelope products to better protect our citizens and buildings from the destructive forces of hurricanes.”

Miller joined PGT Innovations in 2010. In his current role, he oversees the preparation of all PGTI product certification documents, including structural calculations, test planning, and verification of testing protocols. He also provides project-specific engineering services for PGTI products.

“We are incredibly proud of Lynn’s appointment to this ASTM task group that is critical to the development of the impact standards which help protect individuals and secure buildings across the United States,” said Jeff Jackson, president and CEO. “At PGT Innovations, we are fortunate to have a number of our team members extend their talents for the improvement of the fenestration industry and to continue to innovating to create stronger, safer buildings and homes.”

Miller is a voting member of the ASCE 7-22 wind load subcommittee and is actively involved in various fenestration task groups at ASTM and FGIA. He also serves as president of the Southeast region of FGIA.


Leave Comment