NLBMDA Announces New Leadership Team

October 25th, 2013 by Editor

The National Lumber and Building Material Dealers Association (NLBMDA) announced its new leadership team installed on October 23 at the ProDealer Industry Summit in Nashville, Tenn. At the association’s annual meeting, the NLBMDA board of directors elected Chris Yenrick as the new chair of the association. Yenrick is president of Smith Phillips Building Supply in Winston-Salem, N.C., and is replacing outgoing chair Chuck Bankston, president of Bankston Lumber in Barnesville, Ga.

“I am privileged to serve as chair of NLBMDA, following the many great lumber dealers before me,” says Yenrick. “Our companies have very close ties and long histories with the communities we serve, so this local focus sometimes leads us to lose sight of national issues that can impact us close to home. The housing sector is recovering steadily and shows signs that it can return to being a leading engine for jobs and economic growth. Haphazard laws and over-regulation could easily jeopardize our momentum. In this fragile economic recovery it is of the utmost importance to have a watchdog in Washington, D.C., that promotes common sense legislation and regulation for our industry.”

As the president of Smith Phillips Building Supply, Yenrick has served actively at the federal level with NLBMDA and regionally with the Southern Building Material Association.

Following are the remaining members of the 2013-2014 Executive Committee:

— Chair-Elect: J.D. Saunders, Economy Lumber, Campbell, Calif.;

— First Vice Chair: Scott Yates, Denver Lumber, Denver, Colo.;

— Second Vice Chair: Davis Boland, Boland Maloney Lumber, Louisville, Ky.;

— Treasurer: Linda Nussbaum, Kleet Lumber, Huntington, N.Y.;

— Manufacturers and Services Council Chair: Roger Dankel, Simpson Strong-Tie, McKinney, Texas;

— Federated Association Executives Chair: Rita Ferris, Northeastern Retail Lumber Association, Rensselaer, N.Y.;

— Immediate Past Chair: Chuck Bankston, Bankston Lumber, Barnesville, Ga; and

— President: Michael O’Brien, NLBMDA, Washington, D.C.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave Comment