NFRC Recognizes Members During Awards Ceremony

October 11th, 2017 by Editor

The National Fenestration Rating Council (NFRC) recently presented three of its members with awards for their contributions to the organization during a reception held as part of the rating council’s fall membership meeting in San Diego.

Emerging Leader Award – Jesse Winters

This first award went to Jesse Winters, lead drafter with Window Tech Inc. Jessica Finn, NFRC’s meetings and membership manager, presented the award, citing Winters’ work with code officials in the greater Seattle area as playing an integral role in promoting the value of NFRC’s commercial program.

Finn also pointed out the value of Winters’ assistance to the CMA task group by preparing ballots for the membership meeting. Winters solidified his reputation as an emerging leader when he was confirmed as Chair of the CMAST task group during the meeting.

“NFRC was built on many years of service from our dedicated volunteers,” NFRC board chair Paul Bush said. “Our continued growth, however, depends on new volunteers stepping up and leaving their mark.”

Winters said being acknowledged as an innovator in front of his peers better positions him to make an even stronger contribution.

“I am honored to receive the emerging leader award,” Winters said. “I am very excited for the opportunity I have to help people and to improve NFRC’s commercial program.”

Dariush Arasteh Memorial Member-of-the-Year Award – John McFee

John McFee, VP of certification programs for the Window & Door Manufacturers Association (WDMA), accepted the Dariush Arasteh Memorial Member-of-the-Year Award from last year’s recipient, Steve Strawn.

The award recognizes the individual whose work throughout the year makes an exceptional contribution to accelerating NFRC’s mission.

Bush described McFee, a current board member, as a dedicated volunteer who exhibits a genuine commitment and concern for advancing NFRC’s work. Bush also acknowledged McFee’s genuine support for NFRC’s status as a public service corporation, noting that he always puts the best interests of the public front and center.

“It is an honor to receive such recognition,” McFee said. “I am also very grateful to represent all of the incredible companies that make the fenestration industry truly a great industry and group of people to work with.”

Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient – Jim Krahn

Given for the first time in NFRC’s 28-year history, the Lifetime Achievement Award went to Jim Krahn, who has been active with the organization for 25 years. Krahn, who recently retired as manager of codes and regulatory affairs at Marvin Windows, has served the fenestration industry for 60 years.

The criteria for candidates includes demonstrated leadership and involvement with NFRC activities for at least 15 years, substantial achievement in multiple leadership roles, serving as a role model and mentor, and being generally recognized as having reached the pinnacle of their career in the fenestration industry.

“Jim has worked tirelessly to advance NFRC’s mission throughout his illustrious career,” Bush said.

Krahn, who spent more than 30 years, with Marvin Windows served on task groups, subcommittees, committees, and the board of directors during his time with NFRC. He was also NFRC’s member-of-the-year in 2011.

Bush added that the Lifetime Achievement Award is not intended to be an annual award but will be distributed at the board’s discretion, when it feels someone meets the criteria.

Tags: ,

Leave Comment