DWM Magazine Named as Jesse H. Neal Award Finalist

February 18th, 2014 by Editor

Door and Window Market (DWM) Magazine has been honored by ABM, the association of business information and media companies, as a finalist in the 60th Annual Jesse H. Neal Awards competition for editorial excellence. DWM is one of 174 finalists selected by a distinguished board of judges within the Best Webcast entry. The judging panel selected the finalists from an original pool of 612 entries. The winners will be announced on March 14 during ABM’s annual Neal Awards ceremony at Pier Sixty in New York City.

In order to be considered for the Best Webcast entry, DWM had to provide links to three episodes of an online series — video, audio, narrated slides or other multimedia programming. Episodes had to be posted under an umbrella title for the series. The programs’ content had to contain original material and must be under the control of the editorial department. Advertising or sponsorship messages had to be clearly identified as such. Click here to view an example of one of the three entries submitted.

Not new to being recognized for its excellence, DWM has also earned rave reviews from readers who compliment the columns, written by respected leaders in the industry, and the feature articles that delve into complex issues. In 2002, the prestigious American Society of Business Publication Editors named DWM as the “Best New Publication of the Year” in the Eastern Region of the United States. DWM has also won recognition for tackling important investigative stories that others just won’t, and DWM publisher, Tara Taffera, was a previous 2010 Neal Award finalist for her USGlass magazine (a sister publication to DWM) article, “Millions Spent, Nothing Gained.”

“Being selected again as a Neal Award finalist is such a humbling experience. The team at DWM feels truly honored; it’s such a distinguished accolade,” said Taffera.

Paying tribute to the Neal Award finalists, ABM Managing Director Mike Marchesano said, “I don’t think we could have picked a better group of finalists this year. Each of these brands and content producers have created cutting-edge work that inspires and informs the industry. We congratulate all of this year’s Neal Award finalists, and look forward to honoring them for their outstanding work.”

Established in 1955, the Jesse H. Neal Awards recognize and reward editorial excellence in business media. The awards are named after ABM’s first managing director, who remained active in promoting the industry throughout his life. The Neal Awards are presented annually to those editors who have submitted entries exhibiting journalistic enterprise, service to the field and editorial craftsmanship.

Entries are divided into three classifications, according to the brand’s advertising and circulation revenue, with 12 editorial categories within each size classification and nine categories that do not require revenue figures. Material must have been published between December 1, 2012, and November 30, 2013.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave Comment