AAMA Stops to Recognize Industry Leaders

February 28th, 2019 by Drew Vass, Executive Editor

Officials for the American Architectural Manufacturers Association (AAMA) paused amid the association’s 82nd annual conference, to recognize the contributions and achievements of various members, also congratulating award winners. The moment arrived amid an awards banquet held Tuesday night, in Palm Springs, Calif., where award presenters noted the importance of member contributions.

Mike DeSoto, chief operating officer for MI Windows and Doors, was presented with the association’s Outstanding Member Award, which is given to individuals who have distinguished themselves in their work and dedication to the advancement of AAMA and the industry.

“Mike eats, sleeps and drinks windows,” said Doug Holmberg, quality manager at Apogee Enterprises Inc. “This interest has found profitable expression through AAMA. Today, we recognize and thank him for his service to AAMA and our industry.”The Distinguished Service Award for the Architectural Products Group was presented to Robert Jutras, principal engineer, building envelope performance for CLEB Laboratory Inc., an award that’s given to an individual who accomplishes formative work on behalf of the association and its architectural products group.

“A born engineer, he is insatiably inquisitive about how things work and inventive about how to make them better, often in a new way,” previous award recipient Donnie Hunter, director of global product management for Kawneer, said.

Mark Fortun, manager of code compliance for Endura Products Inc., was presented with the Distinguished Service Award for the residential products group—an award that’s granted annually, to a member who excels in working toward improving the association.

“True to his reputation, with all those years under his belt, he hasn’t slowed down a step,” former recipient Jeff Franson, senior director, product development and advanced technology for Quanex Building Products, said. Fortun has risen to a management level on the Wood and Cellulosic Composite Material Council, Franson said, where he serves as first vice president, as well as on the Door Council, where he also has served as second vice president.

In its effort to acknowledge an individual exhibiting leadership and outstanding service in the area of marketing, association officials presented the Marketing Distinguished Service Award to Josh Wignall, director of marketing for EFCO Corporation. Lastly, the 2019 Chairman’s Award was presented to Veka Inc., for distinguishing itself over the past two years, through an “outstanding commitment and dedicated support to the association and the fenestration industry,” officials proclaimed. The award was presented by DeSoto, AAMA’s outgoing Chairperson.

Leave Comment